The Act of Seeing By Drawing


 

“Doctors-in-training who took art classes while in medical school appear to have better skills of observation than their colleagues who have never studied art, according to a research from Harvard Medical School”

At the cafe in Antwerp                                  At the cafe in Antwerp, 1978


 

 

 

 

 

 

Today I started looking through some old drawings and sketches and realise again the importance of sketching from observation daily. It’s the fundamental building block of the artist. Keeping a sketchbook is the best way to help my skills grow. I have several sketchbooks in different sizes and I always used to keep one in my bag when I went out. Like a photographer who takes his camera. I know it’s important to pick up this habit again. I’m planning to make at least one sketch a day. Actually anything can go into my sketchbook. Ideas and thoughts as well, not only visual impressions. I should not worry too much about getting things perfect as drawing and any type of art is about the experiments and the trial and error of working things out for yourself.

Artist Frederick Franck states that “the glaring contrast between seeing and looking at the world around us is immense; it is fateful. Everything in our society seems to conspire against our inborn human gift of seeing.” Learning to observe people, places, and activities in the world can make us better. 

My Student Flat, 1978                            My Student Flat, 1978
Male Figure drawing, 1978               Male Figure drawing, 1978
Antoni, 2007                                               Antoni, 2007

 

 

6 thoughts on “The Act of Seeing By Drawing

  1. Merciekes Ingrid! Nee, geen naakte man maar een naakte madam 🙂 geschilderd op een soort van hard plastiek en met een frame vastgemaakt aan mijn bureau.
    BTW: mag ik hier een link naar jouw art blog plaatsen? het adres vind ik wel via FB zeker? x

  2. Hey Frieke, toffe schetskes. Zal ook wel plezant geweest zijn om zo tussen je ‘oude’ verwezelijkingen te neuzen.
    Nine

  3. ah….dat kan natuurlijk ook hiihihi

    Natuurlijk mag je een link plaatsen. Ik heb geen blog, maar meer “alleen” een fotoalbum. WordPress komt wel ooit, maar ben nu drukker met het mezelf verder ontwikkelen in html/css.

    doe maar deze link http://www.fijma.nl/fotoalbum/Paintings-catalogue/ die opent nl met de een van de weinige door mij inmiddels verkochte plaatjes, welke ik onder jouw toeziend oog op Krete geschilderd heb. Misschien kan je het je het bergdorpjes dat we aandeden vanuit Zorbas beach nog herinneren. Een klein dorpje waar we volgens mij schilderden op een pleintje met de kerk in onze rug. Geloof ook dat we daar later overheerlijk gegeten ehbben op een pleintje (…..uhhh dat was elke dag)…Ik heb er in ieder geval nog een fles prachtige olijfolie gekocht.

    1. Dat waren toch reuze schildermomenten in Kreta! En het is zo leuk om te zien dat vele deelnemers zijn blijven schilderen of zelfs nadien naar een Kunstacademie zijn gegaan.
      De naam van dat dorpje was dat niet Mochos?

      Bedankt voor de link, ik zet het bij mijn Blogroll en als ik wat meer tijd heb, schrijf ik eens een Post over jullie verwezenlijkingen na Kreta!
      Succes met je ‘project’!

Leave a Reply

